UBC faculty launch climate pledge (October 8, 2019)

Participants are pledging to reduce their work-related air travel and requesting that the university make fundamental changes in order to reduce its environmental impact

Sarah A. Whaley Book Prize awarded to Dr. Tara Cookson (October 7, 2019)

Recognizing Dr. Cookson's work on her book 'Unjust Conditions: Women’s Work and the Hidden Cost of Cash Transfer Programs'.

Prof. Marwan Hassan awarded international prize (October 1, 2019)

The Qian Ning International Prize for Erosion and Sedimentation Technology was awarded in September.

Graduate student’s film to screen at VIFF 2019 (September 5, 2019)

Happytime Social Club, produced by graduate student Jessica Hallenbeck, will screen in the festival's B.C. Spotlight category.

Colloquium: Problematising Icy Geopolitics? (September 4, 2019)

Join us on Monday 9th September for our first colloquium of the year, given by Professor Klaus Dodds from Royal Holloway, University of London.

New initiative to track greenhouse gas levels (August 14, 2019)

Assistant professor Sara Knox is leading on a global project to better understand methane emissions.

SOS: What you can do to reduce climate change (August 7, 2019)

A new book from PhD candidate Seth Wynes offers a short introduction to what we as individuals can do about climate change.

Dr. Tara Cookson receives Alumni Achievement Award (July 29, 2019)

The Young Alumni Award recognises 'significant and inspiring leadership'; Dr. Cookson's research on gender equity has led to work with UN Women and the founding of feminist consultancy Ladysmith.

New study: Canadian high school education on climate change is lacking (July 22, 2019)

PhD candidate Seth Wynes and co-author Kimberly Nicholas analyzed textbooks and curricula from Canada’s 13 provinces and territories and interviewed curriculum designers.

Professor Geraldine Pratt named Head of Department (July 1, 2019)

Commencing July 1st 2019, Prof. Pratt will take up leadership of the department. She succeeds Prof. Marwan Hassan, who has led the department since 2012.

Tara Cookson awarded AAG 2018 Global Book Award (March 26, 2019)

In her book Unjust Conditions: Women’s Work and the Hidden Cost of Cash Transfer Programs, Tara Cookson, presents a powerful counter-argument to the fashionable yet problematic practice of “data-driven development”.

Emerging Media Lab: Grand Opening on March 26th (March 22, 2019)

EML is an experimental space where faculty, students, and staff from all disciplines collaborate with industry and community. Its mission is to evolve learning by creating tools and techniques using emerging media including Augmented, Mixed, and Virtual Reality.

Geraldine Pratt awarded UBC’s 2018 Jacob Biely Research Prize (March 12, 2019)

The Jacob Biely Faculty Research Prize, established in 1969, is regarded as UBC’s premier award for research across all disciplines.

Minelle Mahtani recipient of AAG Awards (March 12, 2019)

Mahtani’s work on mixed race identities; the intersectionality of race, ethnicity, and gender; and the production of identity and knowledge have laid the foundations for other geographers’ work and teaching.

Remembering Dr. John Stager (October 31, 2018)

Geographer, administrator, colleague and friend - he will be greatly missed.

QS World Rankings: UBC Geography #1 in Canada, #4 Worldwide (October 2, 2018)

According to QS World Rankings, the Department of Geography at UBC is the best Geography program in Canada and the fourth best in the world.

UBC Geography partners with to deliver audiotour of downtown Vancouver (October 2, 2018)

Professor Siobhan McPhee has partnered with, a mobile toolkit, to deliver an interactive GPS geography lesson about downtown Vancouver.

WDCAG Conference 2018 (April 6, 2018)

Congratulations to another successful year of presentations by our undergraduate students at the Western Division of the Canadian Association of Geographers (WDCAG) conference held on February 9th and 10th, 2018. This year is the 60th annual meeting for the WDCAG and it was held at the University of Alberta.

Karen Bakker wins SSHRC Connection Award and 2017 Trudeau Fellowship (September 20, 2017)

The award recognizes the highest achievements in SSHRC-funded research, knowledge mobilization and scholarship, as well as the highest achievements resulting from a SSHRC fellowship.

James Rhatigan wins best thesis prize (August 9, 2017)

The prize is awarded to an outstanding MA thesis that best advances knowledge of Canada and Canadian Studies.